Category: Local School PTA

Great Murray Showing at Statewide Science Fair Competition

Congratulations to all the students who participated in this year’s Science Fair competitions, organized by our Murray PTA.

Once again, Murray was well represented this year and received numerous statewide awards at the University of Utah Science Fair (USEF) competition. They were…

Students and projects who won at the USEF are the following:

Chemistry and Biochemistry – Third Place

Penny Lever and Paityn Wayman, McMillan Elementary; “Concluding Crumbly Cakes”

Energy Chemical and Physical – Third Place

Sawyer Powers, Shaylee Ballard, and Annabella Luna, McMillan Elementary; “What keeps the Heat”

Mechanical and Materials Engineering – Fourth Place

James Sanders, Viewmont Elementary; “Adaptive Kayaking”

Computer Science and Applied Computational Methods – Fourth Place

Milo Patterson, Horizon Elementary; “Clothes-O-Matic 2000”

Chemistry and Biochemistry – Honorable Mention

Charlotte Jacobsen, McMillan Elementary; “Isn’t it Eggscelent”

Mechanical and Materials Engineering – Honorable Mention

Aspen Benjamin and Maren Lane, Horizon Elementary; “Design-O-Pant”


Go here to see a complete list of winners at the state competition.

Reflections Results are In!

The annual PTA Reflections program judging is complete and Murray is well-represented across the state.

Go here to get the results of all those who received recognition at the local level.

Here are those who went on to get recognition at the state level:

  • Gretta Nicolay, Honorable Mention in 2-D Art, from McMillan
  • Noelle Thackeray, Award of Merit in Dance, from Hillcrest
  • Reagan Jackson, Honorable Mention in Dance, from Riverview
  • Hope Greenwood, Honorable Mention in Film, from Viewmont
  • Ridley Young, Honorable Mention in Literature, from MHS
  • Jaida Koberstein, Award of Merit in Literature, from Hillcrest
  • Elynor Goodman, Honorable Mention in Literature, from McMillan
  • Isaac Smith, Award of Merit in Literature, from McMillan
  • Jameson Thackeray, Honorable Mention in Photography, from MHS
  • Kairi Tyler, Award of Merit in Photography, from McMillan

You can also watch this video to see highlighted winners.